How do I get rid of virtual copies in Lightroom?

How do I turn off virtual copies in Lightroom?

When in a Collection, Option Shift+ Return (Mac) | Alt + Shift + Backspace (Win) to remove the Virtual Copy from the collection as well as delete it from the Library.

Why does Lightroom create virtual copies?

A Virtual Copy is an exact replica of the original photo, including all edits made in Lightroom. … Virtual Copies are a fantastic tool because they let you make multiple copies of a single image, while using very little hard drive space (it only makes a new thumbnail it doesn’t duplicate your image file).

How do I unstack virtual copies in Lightroom?

To remove a virtual copy, right click on it in the film strip and choose “remove photo.” Lightroom will prompt you to remove that copy. Keep in mind all other virtual copies will remain untouched, and the original image is preserved.

Where are virtual copies in Lightroom?

Click on “Attribute” and on the far right of the panel there are 3 little box icons. To select Virtual Copies, click on the middle box, as shown below. Once you turn this filter on, you can see all the Virtual Copies in your catalog.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How do I hide a filename in Lightroom?

What is a virtual copy in Lightroom Classic?

A Virtual Copy is an exact reproduction of a photo that includes any developing work done in Lightroom Classic. Once you’ve made a Virtual Copy you can do anything you like to it without affecting the original.

Can you export a virtual copy in Lightroom?

You can also export a virtual copy from Lightroom Classic, which would be the same as exporting the original raw capture, except with different settings (such as black and white in the example above). You could even export a virtual copy using the “Original” option for the File Format setting during export.

What is a virtual copy and how does it work?

A temporary view of data on screen. Like everything in memory (RAM), the virtual copy vanishes when the application is closed. The term implies that the data cannot be saved and end up as a duplicate file. See copy data management.

Can I duplicate a photo in Lightroom?

To duplicate photos using Virtual Copy in Lightroom, select the image, rick click it, and click on Create Virtual Copy. Your new virtual copy will show up next to the original in the filmstrip, and once you’ve completed this easy step, you can edit each version separately.

How do I make a copy of a photo in Lightroom Classic?

To duplicate a photo in Lightroom, right-click on your image and select Create Virtual Copy. This creates a duplicate version of your photo inside of Lightroom without duplicating the original file. You can now create a new edit for the virtual copy without taking up extra space on your computer.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  How do I permanently group objects in Illustrator?

How many catalogs can you sync with Lightroom mobile?

You can sync only one catalog between Lightroom on your desktop and Lightroom for mobile.